Out of Everywhere

A James Tiptree Jr. Critique

One more new book

I know I just did a post about getting new books, but I got another one in the mail today. This time it’s Ten Thousand Light-Years from Home, which I’ve always liked the sound of as a title. I know there’s that phrase about not judging a book by its cover, but one thing I’ve always loved about Tiptree’s stories is the titles. They’re so unique to her style. Story titles like, “Your Faces, O My Sisters! Your Faces Filled of Light!” and “And I Have Come Upon This Place By Lost Ways” and “A Momentary Taste of Being.” Whereas other short story titles tend to be descriptions of the stories or references to important events/people/motifs in the stories, these titles seem to be stories in and of themselves. I mean, “Go From Me, I Am One of Those Who Pall,” does that sound like a description? It’s a message. And yet it is a title. These titles are so oral, and that’s why I love them.

 

As for the actual book, I’m excited about this one because, of the fifteen stories in it, I’ve only read two. And I know that at least two of the stories I haven’t read have received awards. The book itself is also in pretty good shape. No bent corners or major creases along the spine and no highlighting or mark-ups. The pages are a bit yellow, but that just shows their age. This book is from 1978, after all. (It’s a second printing, the book was published in 1973.) This takes my number of remaining books to find down to two. Exciting!

February 16, 2011 - Posted by | Collecting, Personal | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

